Summer vs The School Year

Hola! I don’t know about you guys, but once summer hits for this girl, a few things change about….the way that I live I’d guess you say. Here are a few things that I’ve noticed are different for me this summer than they were during the school year:

1. SLEEP

So, during the school year I tend to stay up really late and then wake up relatively early (around 6 or 7 AM). Even on the weekends, no matter how tired I am, for some reason I can never seem to sleep past 8 AM (which tends to be really frustrating). In the summer, I make it a personal goal TO NEVER DO THIS!!!!!!!

2. My awareness of the date/day of the week

When school work is going on, I stay quite aware of what day it is, what the date is, what month it is, how many weeks we have left in the month etc. I then plan out my high school life accordingly. All of this week I feel like I’ve been floating around in space with no concept of what’s going on around me, because I have no idea what day of the week or what date it is.

3. Reading

I loooooove reading, but I find that I don’t have much time to indulge in any books during the school year and yes, I know that there’s at least one person sitting at their computer reading this and thinking “what are you complaining about? You’re in high school, you’ve barely even started life!” Anyways, one of the top things that has always been on the top of my summer to-do bucket list, is to read more books. Proud bookworm, right here!

4. Discovering my interests

This summer, I really want to take the time to explore and learn about things that interest me. During the school year, that doesn’t happen much.

So those are four things that change for me once summer comes. Now this post is not to say that school work is horrible and steals all freedom. I understand that school is a very important and necessary part of life, that ought to be taken seriously. I just noticed a few differences in my lifestyle (I’m not even sure if that’s the right word to describe it) after school draws to a close. Okay, so what things change for you during the summer? Are they similar to what changes for me? Let me know in the comments!

Green Inflatable Floatie
Picture Source: Pexels.com
Leave a Reply

