Poetry!

Guess what? I write poetry! I know, pretty crazy. So, yesterday I was upstairs in my bedroom reading a novel when I felt the Holy Spirit tug on my heart to put the book down for a second. Originally I thought I would be spending some time reading the Bible, but I ended up writing this poem that I would like to share with you guys. Enjoy!

Cobwebs and spiders

Little dead bugs

Empty attics, dust blows like a mist

Forgotten, forsaken, bare wooden trunks

Sit alone in a neat row

In the cabin of my heart

I sit inside my dying home

Where dirt covers windows and depravity roams

Then comes a knocking, a tapping, a calling

It floats through my door

Yet pierces the air

Slowly I stand

Swiftly I open

Firmly He stands, fixes all that is broken

My cabin, my isolation, my darkness, my fear

Chained forever

The He turned and looked at me

With that one glance,

All was different

A song, a dance, a laughter, a peace

All of these tokens He has placed within me

A love, a freedom, a joy, a hope

An invitation, a bridge, a wide open door

I feel awake

Yes, now I know

Beyond the very best lies so much more

Soar through the skies

Dance in the rain

Laugh at the sorrow

Conquer the pain

Take a chance, a dare, and go!

The impossible awaits you there.

4 thoughts on “Poetry!

  1. Hey there! ftanglin from the TPS forums here. 🙂 I found your blog while stalking your page.
    Just wanted to say: this is beautiful! I love the words you chose, the way it flows, and the unique rhythm in the last line ties it together so wonderfully!
    I just felt compelled to let you know. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

