A View: The Force Awakens

Star Wars VII has finally hit theaters! Yes, I know it actually came out last Friday and this is probably old news for some of you, but I just saw it and it…was…epic! Before I dive into my opinion on this movie, for those of you who haven’t seen it yet, rest assured that I won’t give away any spoilers. This is going to be a more general review. All right, let’s get to it!

Now, I wouldn’t define myself as a crazy Star Wars nerd who knows every nook, crany, and detail of the story, but hey, I’m not gonna lie, I don’t mind grabbing my lightsaber and getting my Jedi on for a few hours! Okay, so I don’t actually have a lightsaber…but you get the point.

When I first heard that they were making a Star Wars VII, I was skeptical. As a matter of fact, it took me a long time to believe that this movie was an actual thing and not just a bunch of rumors. Anyways, I felt as though the hype was too big and that there was no way that they could come up with a piece of work that was even halfway decent. In my mind, the movie wouldn’t even feel like Star Wars! Boy, was I wrong…

I enjoyed this movie so much. The acting was amazing, the sets and special effects were incredible, and the music was captivating. I felt so attached to the characters by the end of the movie. There was one character in particular who, I’m not even joking, I liked so much within the first twenty minutes of the movie. Overall, it was a pretty serious film, but it had a nice amount of comic relief as well. There were plenty of characters and elements from the old movie that made the whole thing even cooler. It definitely had its own feel to it, but it still felt like Star Wars, if that makes sense.  It didn’t feel exactly like its predecessors, but it still felt like a part of the story.

I’m telling you guys, by the time I was done with that movie I felt like I had gotten off of an emotional roller coaster. It was so good. Five out five stars. Encore. Bravo. Well done. Very much impressed. Now all I have to do is wait until 2017 for the next one….

Leave a Reply

