That’s Not True….

Back to school Shopping New Pajamas  | Homeschool Harold
Picture Source

Hi, guys! So, today I’m going to talk about something that’s very near and dear to my heart: homeschooling! I am a junior in high school and I have been homeschooled my whole life….well, ever since I started school that is.

I feel like quite a few people subconsciously have a list of what homeschoolers are in their heads and they automatically apply that list to anyone who they find out is homeschooled and don’t know well. As a matter of fact, a lot of people have a completely false idea about what homeschooling is in general (I’ll tell you guys what I do for school in a later blog post 😉 ).

A lot of homeschoolers tend to get asked the same kinds of questions because of these stereotypes. I’d like to address some of them,  but first…..

I want to go a totally random route real quick and share something with you guys that I’m learning more and more about everyday. It’s quite personal. Are you ready to hear it? Weeeeell….it is…the importance of obedience, specifically when it comes to your relationship with God.  It’s sooooo hard and yet soooooo vital if you want to walk with the Creator. The fact of the matter is, you’re gonna end up doing what He wants you to do anyways, whether you take the long route or the short route, He always wins. I mean you can go years and years disobeying Him, thinking you’ve outsmarted Him, but then BAM. There it is again. So, yeah, obey. If you fail, keep trying, if it feels too hard, ask for strength, if it doesn’t make sense, do it anyways. Always obey 🙂

Okay, back to homeschool stereotypes. Here are a few questions that people have asked me when they’ve learned that I’m homeschooled:

  1. Do you have any friends?

YES, I do!!!First of all, despite popular belief, you can actually befriend people who are in your immediate family.

Second of all, school is NOT the only place to make friends. There are tons of different places you can go to meet people: church, sports practice, dance practice, the list goes on and on.

2. Do you do school in your pajamas?

N to the o spells no. It actually really bothers me to sit around all day in my pjs. It makes me feel….I don’t know…dirty? Kinda yucky, I guess. I don’t like it and my parents don’t allow my siblings and I to do it while we do school. So, no. The only time that happens is if I’m sick, and if I’m so sick that I have to stay in my pjs than I probably won’t be doing a lot of schoolwork that day anyways.

3. Do you get to sleep in?

No. I usually wake up at 7 AM, which I know is a lot later than what some public schoolers get, but hey. Don’t judge.

 

Assumptions that people have made about me when they learned I was homeschooled and told me about it:

  1. Your schoolwork is easy

FALSE, NOT TRUE, COMPLETELY WRONG!!!! As I stated earlier, I’ll go into more detail as to what I actually do for school in a different blog post (stay tuned), but this assumption is so wrong! That’s all you need to know right now, it’s just wrong haha.

2. You’re socially awkward, shy, and weird.

Now I will admit, that some homeschoolers are in fact socially awkward, shy, and weird. However, I also know that some public schoolers are also socially awkward, shy, and weird. Being homeschooled doesn’t automatically make you that way, that’s more of a personality thing. So please, please, PLEASE do not treat homeschoolers like they are.

 

It’s not wrong to be curious about homeschooling and ask homeschoolers questions. I, for one, would be absolutely delighted to talk to you about what I do each day (which sounds kind of narcissistic, but oh well). However, when you ask questions like some of the ones that I just mentioned, you’ve crossed the line a little 😉

Image result for one does not simply meme
Picture Source
Leave a Reply

