2-in-1: June & May Favorites…Combined!

Hi! So, since I didn’t do a favorites post in the month of May (I didn’t do one in April either, but that’s besides the point) I decided to combine my May favorites with my June favorites to create a 2-in-1 experience! I know, I know, I’m a genius, you don’t have to tell me. Anyways, let’s begin, shall we?

  1. Taking Flight by Michaela & Elaine DePrince
Image result for taking flight from war orphan to star ballerina
Picture Source: Wrappedupinbooks.org

This autobiography follows the life of the professional ballerina, Michaela DePrince. It begins at her childhood in Sierra Leone and goes all the way through her becoming a professional dancer.

I hiiiighly recommend this book, I give it 5 out of 5 stars.  Seriously, I could barely put it down, I practically devoured it…and it tasted very good. Even if you’re not a dancer and have no interest in dance, let alone ballet, give this book a try. It’s very inspiring.

2.  Ballet Magnificat’s The Arrival

Image result for ballet magnificat the arrival
Picture Source: Balletmagnificat.com

Ballet Magnificat is a professional Christian ballet company located in Jackson, Mississippi (check out their website here). Their show, The Arrival,  has various dances that center around awaiting the second coming of Christ. Check out the preview here.

Words cannot express how much  I enjoy this show. I’ve never seen it in person, but I’ve wanted to buy the DVD for a long time. The choreography is absolutely wonderful and the whole show always makes me want to get up and dance. It’s so good.

3. Fajita pizza

 

Now, fajita pizza is an every month favorite for me, but I’ll put it in with this month’s favorites. It’s soooo simple and easy to make and it tastes delicious! Here’s how you do it:

Ingredients:

  • Two slices of tortilla wrap bread
  • Shredded Mexican cheese or sliced Colby-Jack
  • Salsa

All you do is take one of the wrap bread slices and spread salsa all over it, think pizza sauce. Next, either sprinkle the Mexican cheese or put a slice or two of Colby-Jack on top of the salsa . Make sure you don’t put too much or else when you go to cut the finished product, cheese and/or salsa will squirt out the back. Anyways, once you’ve added the cheese, take the other slice of wrap bread and lay it on top of your salsa and cheese pizza. Next, you can either fry or bake your pizza until the the wrap bread is light brown around the edges or until the cheese is melted. If you choose to fry it, make sure to cook the pizza on both sides. Use a pizza cutter to slice it and there you go! Fajita pizza! Eat and enjoy!

 

4. Audrey Assad

Image result for audrey assad
Picture Source: Jesusfreakhideout.com

Let’s take things in a completely different direction and talk music. These past two months I’ve really been enjoying listening to Audrey Assad’s songs, specifically “Restless”“Wherever You Go”,“Good To Me”,“No Turning Back”,“Slow”, and “Show Me”. Most of her music is about walking with God and having a personal relationship with Him. I love the poetic lyrics and she has the most beautiful voice. Really great stuff, check it out some time.

5. Boscov’s

Image result for boscovs store
Picture Source: Wikipedia.org

For those of you who don’t know, Boscov’s is a department store similar to Macy’s and all those places. They’ve got some really cute clothes, and I did the majority of my summer shopping there. That store gets a big thumbs up from me.

6. Nail polish

Image result for nail polish
Picture Source: Blog.byoung.com

Perhaps this is a bit random, but I’ve been really into nail polish lately! I pretty much always wear nail polish on my toes in the summer, but recently I’ve been into doing my nails as well. It’s a big help for those of us who struggle with fingernail biting (guilty).

6. Bantu Knot Bun

Now, this is a hairstyle that my mom and I created and I think it’s so cute. Check out this video to see the style!

7. Panera Bread’s Caramel Cappucino

Image result for panera bread's caramel cappuccino
Picture Source: Caffeineinformer.com

Now it’s a bit strange to be talking about a non-Wawa drink in a favorites post, but you know what, it’s okay because Wawa, you’re still the best. If you don’t know what Wawa’s is then  check out my other favorites post and you will learn all about it.

Annnywaaaays, Caramel Frappucino! So, a few weeks ago my mom and I were in Panera Bread and my mom ordered a Caramel Frappucino. She wanted the cold version and accidentally ordered the hot version. The Panera Bread guy was nice enough to make my mom a cold version and let us keep the hot version. And guess who got the hot version? That’s right, you guessed it, this girl. It. Was. Fabulous!

Now, yes, it wasn’t all that convenient to be drinking a hot drink on a hot day, but hey, you get what you get and you don’t get upset. I got a free drink, I’m gonna be happy about it. Anyways, that drink was so good. It was nice and sweet and I just kept getting these waves of caramel along with the coffee. I liked it. I liked it a lot. And you will too. If you try it. So try it.

By the way, I’m allergic to nuts and my mom ordered her drink with almond milk because she’s healthy like that. Thus, I drank half a cup of almond milk before realizing it was almond milk and almost died. Just kidding, surprisingly I didn’t have an allergic reaction. Guess I’m not allergic to almonds.

5. Dancing Through It by Jenifer Ringer

Image result for dancing through it by jenifer ringer
Picture Source: Zestodream.wordpress.com

Let’s go back to the bookshelf and talk about Dancing Through It! Another autobiography, this one also follows the story of a professional ballerina that had more of typical ballet upbringing. She goes into a lot of detail about how difficult the professional ballet world can be and talks about the struggles she’s had with anorexia and overeating. It is sooooo inspiring and I give it 5 out of 5 stars, definitely. Dance lover or not, read this book, it’s good.

6. Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens

Image result for oliver twist
Picture Source: Yesteryearbooks.co.uk

 

Now, I’m sure a lot of you have heard of the Charles Dicken’s classic, Oliver Twist. I read a children’s version of it when I was younger and really liked it, so I decided to re-visit it. This classic is a story about  a young orphan boy named, can you believe it, Oliver Twist!

I’m about five chapters away from being finished with it (so no spoilers), but I think it’s a really good book! Though I do own it, I decided to listen to an audio book on LibriVox (check it out here). Now, LibriVox can be a hit or a miss, sometimes you get a reader that’s really good and other times you get a reader that’s not so good. The guy who reads this one is phenomenal. He’s excellent, he does different voices for different characters and everything. I highly suggest checking it out.

As for the actual story, it’s really good! It has a lot of sad parts and there are some characters in there that are gonna make you wanna throw the book across the room, but it’s great. There are so many layers. Even if you’re not a classics lover, give this one a try!

Alas, my friends, we have come to the end of our journey. I hope you enjoyed reading this, farewell until next time!

 

 

Leave a Reply

